Girls participate in fun weekly programs. Programs may include: singing, cooking, dancing, painting, games, acting, craft and much more

Each of these programs enable Girls to work towards earning Achievement Awards. An Award is represented by a badge on their Sash, worn as part of the Uniform in Australia.


Cadets  – Reception to Grade 2

 A girl is a Cadet for up to 3 years. During this time she may earn 3 Stars. 

The symbol represents that star the Wise men followed to find Jesus. Cadets are just starting their journey through life and as they work for this award they too can find Jesus.

The Cadet award is divided in to three aspects, Educational, Social and Physical, while Spiritual themes are incorporated in each of these.

A Cadet would normally complete a Star within a  year.

Juniors – Grade 3 to 5

Girls are a part of the Junior Unit in Grades 3 to 5. During this time they may earn 3 Circles.

The circle symbolises our motto “Seek, Serve and Follow Christ”.

Educational, Social and Physical programs are key to the Junior award, which also involves ‘encountering God’ in each of these. The activities are set to cater to each girl at different stages of their development.

A Junior would normally complete a Circle within a Junior year.

 Seniors – Grade 6 to 9
Seniors spend 3 years in this Unit. During this time, they may earn 3 triangles. The Senior Badge has hands depicted on it.
This represents serving hands, indicating the Seniors are beginning to learn how to serve others in different ways and circumstances. The Senior Award includes both discussions and activities while still focusing on our core achievements of Educational, Social and Physical, and Spiritual.

Pioneers  – Grade 9 to 11
Pioneers may earn 3 triangles.

Pioneers has a focus on helping girls develop into young women while encouraging them in leadership, teaching them life skills and allowing them to grow in their faith

Pioneers can earn three triangles: blue, red and gold.

The triangles contain a symbol representing CHRIST THE KING.

Each Pioneer Award is divided into 3 aspects, being: Skills, Service, Spiritual, yet caters to girls’ individual and group interests.



     Pioneer Pin 
The highest National Award a Girl can obtain in Australia is called the Pioneer Pin.

It is awarded to a Pioneer who:

  • Completes the three Pioneer Achievement Awards
  • Gains one GB Award while in the Pioneer Unit
  • Completes the Foundations Leadership Course and one Advanced Leadership Training Course.
  • 6 months “In Company” service (eg care of games equipment, help set up – clear away, birthdays card distribution, operation of audio/visual equipment.)

Successful assessment by an interview Panel. The Panel members consider a confidential report on the Applicant from her Captain and Chaplain/Minister and then assess the girl on her work done in Brigade and on her attitude to the whole of life. The interview panel then make an endorsement of her attitude, commitment and willingness to serve others.

The Application is then endorsed at both the State and National levels.

  Queen’s Award

The Queen’s Award is the highest award to be obtained in The Girls’ Brigade and is an International Award. It is designed to encourage girls and young women to a personal commitment to the Lord Jesus Christ, while respecting other faiths; inspiring them to greater endeavour in service within the general community and to make a contribution to the worldwide concept of The Girls’ Brigade.

Girls may commence in the calendar year in which they turn 15. The Final Interview/Assessment cannot be taken before the year of the girl’s 17th birthday, or after the year of the girl’s 25th birthday.

Hold the Pioneer Pin at the time of Assessment, earn GOLD Service Awards for at least three (3) years in the Pioneer Unit.


  • Initial Interview
  • Voluntary Service
  • Company Service
  • Church Involvement
  • Two Initiative Tasks
  • Assignment (Illustrated Book, Audio or Video, Music, Sport, Creative Work)
  • Written Examination
  • and Girls’ Brigade Assessment